Pet of the Week: Guest Blogger-Wiggy for Animal Awareness and Protection

Wiggy, from Wiggy for Animal Awareness and Protection, is our Pet of the Week. Wiggy, along with her mom and dad, work tirelessly to help animals in need. This is her story! If you haven’t met Wiggy, stop by her page and say hello (you can click on any picture to get to her Facebook page). If you already know her, head over and tell her what a great job she is doing!!

wiggy cover

It was a cold and raining night….Well, it was cold dry day. Either way, I was alone and cold and outside left on the mean streets of Houston. In the attempt to find my new family, I was hanging out at a gas station and I jumped into car after car. The people though kept pulling me out saying “oh what a cute dog” or “silly puppy, you don’t belong here” . Each time, I was always pulled out of the car and left alone again. The last car I jumped into those same words came out of this man’s mouth. He was different though and went inside the gas station to see if I belonged to anyone. They said no and were planning on calling the pound to pick me up. This man said he would take me in and try and find my family. After tirelessly looking, calling and posting signs my old family never came looking for me. Luckily, I had sweet barked my way into his heart and was pulling on the heart strings of his wife. They decided to keep me. BOL! I now had a new family who would never loose me. They found me just after they signed a contract on a new home. I was their house warming present  I fit in quite nice.

blog 1

As time went on and my mom and dad realized how special I was, we were online following some main characters specifically Snarf, Titus and Hailey, Juno’s Place amonst many many others and mom said one day that we should do a page bringing awareness to animals in peril and also quite simply show off my wonderful personality. The page was launched in late July. The middle of August on one of my afternoon walks, we ran into a puppy that was in terrible need of help. He was malitpoo that was completely covered in fleas, matted, dirty and hungry with obviously no home to go to, with no tags and no collar, he needed help. My mom was completely distraught and he followed us home per her demand. When we came in she told dad that we had to help this dog and could not turn our backs on him. Dad sprung into action and jumped into the tub with the dog (now named Muppet) and Muppet had his first of two baths that day with dad pulling fleas from his eyes and twigs from his fur. While we always supported causes for animal assistance, we were never directly impacted by a situation that actually required physical help. This was our first time and both mom and dad realized they needed to step up to the plate and help this animal. After several washes and desperate phone calls to friends who could help foster him, we got him cleaned up, groomed, neutered, fostered and ultimately he was adopted out through a local animal rescue. This was a proud moment for all of us that took our lip service to the next level and we were actually doing something to help others. Since then, we have taken part in several transports helping to bring pups that were moments away from being put to sleep and are taking a much more active role in bringing awareness to people regarding safe keeping, handling and caring for their animals.

blog 3

My motto states that People have changed my world. Animals can change yours too. I am lucky to live a great life and my mission is to insure other household pets have the same opportunity

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. What a wonderful story and Wiggy’s dad i& mom are just great!!…”I had sweet barked my way”… that’s so cute!!! Thanks a lot Wiggy’s pawrents for rescuing “muppet” too – I’m glad he is adopted and found a furrever home. Thanks for sharing this story with me ;o)

    Reply

Leave a comment